français fr
  • العربية ar
  • English en
  • Español es
  • français fr
  • हिन्दी hi
  • 简体中文 zh-CN
Vous apporter des trucs dont vous ne saviez même pas que vous vouliez ... Jusqu'à MAINTENANT !!
français fr
  • العربية ar
  • English en
  • Español es
  • français fr
  • हिन्दी hi
  • 简体中文 zh-CN
Panier 0
Vintage Hardcover First Printing The Pioneers of Old Ontario, The Makers of Canada By W. L. Smith, 1923
Vintage Hardcover First Printing The Pioneers of Old Ontario, The Makers of Canada By W. L. Smith, 1923
Vintage Hardcover First Printing The Pioneers of Old Ontario, The Makers of Canada By W. L. Smith, 1923

Vintage Relié Première impression Les pionniers du vieil Ontario, les fabricants du Canada par WL Smith, 1923

Prix régulier $25.00 $12.99 Prix unitaire par
Frais de port calculés à l'étape de paiement.

Ceci est une première édition des Pionniers du vieil Ontario, Les fabricants du Canada par W. L. Smith. Imprimé en 1923, c'est un incontournable pour toute collection.

Au printemps 1897, William Loe Smith entreprit une série de voyages dans les régions rurales de l'Ontario. Ces voyages ont été entrepris dans le but d'obtenir des informations de première main, pour publication dans les colonnes deLe soleil hebdomadaire concernant les conditions réelles des habitants de la province.

Tout en s'acquittant de cette tâche, il "est tombé sur une véritable réserve d'informations d'un tout autre type". Ces informations ont été portées dans les mémoires d'hommes et de femmes alors encore vivants - souvenirs qui remontaient à l'époque de la forêt vierge, de cabanes en rondins entourées de souches noircies au milieu de clairières rares, de sentiers de brousse et de chemins de velours sur lesquels les colons travaillaient avec leurs grains dans des moulins lointains, des abeilles forestières d'autrefois et des coureurs de circuit qui portaient le message de l'Évangile à ces vrais héros.

Sur la base de ses recherches et d'entretiens, Smith a écrit une série de croquis de pionniers qui ont paru dans les journaux pendant la période de 1897 à 1914. Ces croquis, avec quelques informations supplémentaires recueillies à une date ultérieure, forment la base de ce qui est contenu dans ce volume.

En 1922-1923, Smith rassembla ses récits de première main sur la vie des pionniers qu'il publia à l'origine dans les journaux de l'Ontario, ajouta beaucoup de nouveau contenu, puis organisa le livre par les régions de l'Ontario où les événements se déroulaient.


Partager ce produit

English en
  • العربية ar
  • English en
  • Español es
  • français fr
  • हिन्दी hi
  • 简体中文 zh-CN
New items arrive weekly. Don't miss them, sign up for our newsletter.
English en
  • العربية ar
  • English en
  • Español es
  • français fr
  • हिन्दी hi
  • 简体中文 zh-CN
Cart 0
Vintage Hardcover First Printing The Pioneers of Old Ontario, The Makers of Canada By W. L. Smith, 1923
Vintage Hardcover First Printing The Pioneers of Old Ontario, The Makers of Canada By W. L. Smith, 1923
Vintage Hardcover First Printing The Pioneers of Old Ontario, The Makers of Canada By W. L. Smith, 1923

Vintage Hardcover First Printing The Pioneers of Old Ontario, The Makers of Canada By W. L. Smith, 1923

Regular price $25.00 $12.99 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.

This is a first edition print of The Pioneers of Old Ontario, The Makers of Canada By W. L. Smith.  Printed in 1923 this is a definite must for any collection.

In the Spring of 1897 William Loe Smith began a series of trips through rural Ontario. These trips were undertaken with the object of obtaining first-hand information, for publication in the columns of The Weekly Sun regarding actual conditions of the inhabitants of the province.

While engaged in that task, he "stumbled on a veritable storehouse of information of another kind altogether". This information was carried in the memories of men and women then still living-memories that went back to the days of the virgin forest, of log cabins surrounded by blackened stumps in the midst of scanty clearings, of bush trails and corduroy roads over which settlers toiled with their grists to distant mills, of old-time logging bees, and of the circuit riders who carried the Gospel message to those real heroes.

Based on his research and interviews, Smith wrote a series of pioneer sketches which appeared in newspapers during the period from 1897 to 1914. These sketches, with some further information gathered at a later date, form the basis of what is contained in this volume.

In 1922-1923, Smith assembled his first-hand accounts of pioneer life that he originally published in Ontario newspapers, added much new content, then organized the book by the areas of Ontario where events took place.


Share this Product